Balloon Glow

img_9182

It’s a rarely recalled fact that my dad used to fly hot air balloons. My parents tell me that when I was a toddler, they’d wake me up before dawn head out to cornfields and fly balloons. It’s not something that I truly remember, but when it comes up in conversation I recall the topic in the same way that I might remember having been there.

I stumbled upon a weekend listing for the Kalamazoo Balloon Festival on Friday, and we decided to drive out to check out the balloon glow after dinner tonight. I’m so glad that we did. It was one of the most unique things we’ve ever seen. Such a beautiful sight, and such a Michigan experience. The kids absolutely loved it, and as we sat in the grass I turned to Kristin and said that while these may not always feel like our people, these are our roots and I sort of love this stuff. These are the things that make me love being in Michigan again.

2 thoughts on “Balloon Glow

  1. Miss you all so much, but am loving this blog as a way to keep in touch and involved in your lives! I love to hear the ups, downs, and all around about your new experiences – I hear you reading in my head and keep wanting to jump in for more details 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  2. Pingback: Fall Agrotainment at Gull Meadow Farms | Sushi Grass & Fireflies

Leave a Reply

